Wicca and Initiation

Here is North Central Texas the sun still blazes through our days and our earth is very thirsty (there is a cold front moving through tonight and I know we all pray for rain), but I can feel the tease of autumn in the morning and evening air. And, although everyone I speak with is grateful for our mild (by Texas standards) summer, I know we’ll happily welcome the cooler weather.

As our wheel turns toward autumn my thoughts turn inward and I find myself coming across many thought provoking writings. The following on Wicca and Initiation comes from one of our craft Elders, Morgana Sythove. I suggest it should be required reading for all seekers, but also think those of us with more than a few craft years under our belts can always benefit from a refresher on the topic as well.

There is often a great deal of dissension over the issue of Wicca and initiation. Many people believe that you can be a Wiccan without initiating or that a person can perform a “self-initiation”, while others (mostly Wiccan) declare that initiation is definitely needed and that self-initiation is generally a ridiculous concept.

link to the remainder of the post on Morgana’s blog

